Storyline Notebook: Week of May 4, 2015

As the season heads into the summer months, the news cycle picks up. Following Talladega Superspeedway, it was another busy week of news. Catch up on all the major headlines and stories with this week’s edition of Storyline Notebook.

Storyline NotebooksKS

2014 Fan Favorite Driver Contest Results

cms_051614_kahneAfter two weeks of voting, over 16,000 votes, and the most popular tournament to date – the 2014 Fan Favorite Driver has been decided. With 10,159 votes in the final poll, Kasey Kahne has won the tournament over Dale Earnhardt Jr. with 3,474 votes.

Kahne becomes the fourth different tournament winner in its four years of existence. He joins 2011 winner Tony Stewart, 2012 winner Kyle Busch, and 2013 winner Joey Logano. He is the first Hendrick Motorsports driver to take the title of the “Fan Favorite Driver.” Continue reading “2014 Fan Favorite Driver Contest Results”

The Road to Miami: Contender Round Shakes Up Championship Picture

charlotte_nscs_race_field (1)Each race in the Contender Round of the 2014 Chase for the Sprint Cup championship provided a unique twist to the title battle.

Three weeks ago at Kansas Speedway, the trouble Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, and Brad Keselowski ran into impacted their chances at moving forward in the Chase.

During the following week at Charlotte Motor Speedway, drivers including Earnhardt Jr. dug themselves a bigger hole while Kevin Harvick took the victory and was relieved of the pressure Talladega would bring. Continue reading “The Road to Miami: Contender Round Shakes Up Championship Picture”

Race to the Chase: Atlanta Motor Speedway

With the completely-new Chase for the Sprint Cup Series championship approaching, there will be a lot to watch for in the final regular season races. To break it all down, I’ll post this weekly infograph to show who is on the Chase Grid and who is on the outside looking in. Also, I’ll include a list of drivers who could potentially win their first race of the season and put themselves in a position to make the Chase. Two races remain and the Race to the Chase is on.Race to the Chase Atlanta3

Kahne Grabs Daytona Victory to Continue Jr Motorsports’ Impressive Season

Photo- Getty Images
Photo- Getty Images

On the Fourth of July, it was only fitting that the Subway Firecracker 250 featured fireworks at the finish. An intense final two laps allowed many different players to emerge in the quest for victory. Once the checkered flag flew, it was JR Motorsports sweeping the top two spots as Kasey Kahne claimed victory. He barely edged out teammate Regan Smith who proved to be strongest throughout the night.

Continue reading “Kahne Grabs Daytona Victory to Continue Jr Motorsports’ Impressive Season”

McMurray Fights Off Edwards in Final Segment for All-Star Race Victory

Photo- Getty Images
Photo- Getty Images

In a race that featured non-stop action, it was appropriate that the battle for the win involved fenders rubbing. As Jamie McMurray and Carl Edwards battled door-to-door, each looked for the glimpse of clear track ahead that likely meant victory. McMurray was quickest to find that space and he ended the night in victory lane. Continue reading “McMurray Fights Off Edwards in Final Segment for All-Star Race Victory”

Hendrick Motorsports on a Quest for Absolute Dominance in 2014

Photo- Getty Images
Photo- Getty Images

It is no secret that Hendrick Motorsports is the finest team in the garage. Their driver lineup, crew members, cars, and personnel are all some of the best in NASCAR today. They also know how to take advantage of their rich resources as season in and season out; they are the best team on track.

Each year, Hendrick prowess is demonstrated in various ways. 2013’s dominance was another championship with Jimmie Johnson, his sixth in eight years. 2014 will not be any different as Hendrick Motorsports is prepped and already one step ahead of the competition in the battle for the Sprint Cup. Continue reading “Hendrick Motorsports on a Quest for Absolute Dominance in 2014”